Apr 20/98: Who is the BC Treaty Commission?


Settlers In Support of Indigenous Sovereignty (S.I.S.I.S.)
April 20, 1998

The Treaty Commission has five members:

Commissioners serve two-year terms.

In April 1997, the First Nations Summit and the governments of BC and Canada announced re-appointments of all Commissioners. Wilf Adam and Miles Richardson returned for second terms as appointees from the First Nations Summit. Peter Lusztig was appointed for a second term by the government of Canada and Barbara Fisher accepted her third consecutive appointment from the government of British Columbia. According to the BCTC, "the reappointments bring stablility and continuity to the Treaty Commission at a time when most of the tables will be in Stage 4 negotiations and facing the most difficult issues which must be resolved."

Official Bios of Treaty Commissioners

As of April 20, 1998

Chief Commissioner
Alec Robertson, Q.C.

Alec Robertson was a partner with Davis and Co. until his appointment as Chief Commissioner to a three-year term on May 15, 1995. Among his many community activities, Mr. Robertson has served as President of the B.C. Branch of the Canadian Bar Association, Chair of the Law Foundation of B.C., and as a member of the Gender Equality Task Force of the Canadian Bar Association. He was born in Victoria and earned a Bachelor of Commerce (1955) and Bachelor of Laws (1957) from the University of British Columbia and a Master of Laws (1958) from Harvard University. He was admitted to the bar in B.C. in 1959.

First Nations Summit Commissioners
Wilf Adam
Miles Richardson

Wilf Adam became a Commissioner in April 1995. He was re-elected for a further two years in April 1997. He is a former Chief Councilor of the Lake Babine Band and former chair of the Burns Lake Native Development Corporation. Mr. Adam is a co-founder of the Burns Lake Law Centre. He was born in Burns Lake and raised at Pendleton Bay. In 1985, he completed a course in Business Management at the College of New Caledonia in Prince George.

Miles Richardson became a Commissioner in November 1995. He was appointed to a second term in April 1997. Formerly a President of the Council of the Haida Nation, he was a member of the First Nations Summit Task Group from 1991 to 1993. Mr. Richardson was a member of the B.C. Claims Task Force, whose report and recommendations are the blueprint for the treaty negotiation process. He holds a Bachelor of Arts (1979) from the University of Victoria.

Government of Canada Commissioner
Peter Lusztig

Peter Lusztig was appointed to the Commission in April 1995 to a two-year term and re-appointed in April 1997. A former Professor of Finance at the University of British Columbia, he served as Dean of the Faculty of Commerce and Business Administration. In addition to his academic experience, Mr. Lusztig has played an active role in public affairs as a member of two Royal Commissions and Commissions of Inquiry and has served with numerous community and business boards. Mr. Lusztig earned his Bachelor of Commerce from the University of British Columbia (1954) his MBA from the University of Western Ontario (1955) and his PhD from Stanford University (1965).
Province of British Columbia Commissioner
Barbara Fisher

Barbara Fisher was first appointed Commissioner in April 1993, and was appointed to a third, two-year term in April 1997. Formerly General Counsel and Vancouver Director of the Office of the Ombudsman, Ms. Fisher also practises as part-time counsel to the B.C. Information and Privacy Commissioner. She earned her Bachelor of Laws (1981), her Bachelor of Fine Arts (1976) and her Diploma in Education (1977) from the University of Victoria, and her A.R.C.T. from the Royal Conservatory of Music.

Email BC Treaty Commissioners
c/o Melanie Healy: melanie_healy@bctreatycommission.bc.ca

Back to SIS